How to Learn the Modes of Major Scale

The modes on the major guitar scale are an inevitable step for those guitarists. Modes are scales based on a common major scale. You can tackle any large-scale one, and you can build seven different modes depending on each class. You can spend the rest of your life playing the guitar, experimenting only with these modes on major scales, and a few chords to get through most of the situation or the group’s performances.

How to learn the modes of the major scale

The first thing to learn modes on a major scale in the shape of the scales themselves. The main major scale is a seven-thread scales (for example, the C = C, D, E, F, G, A, B key), so you need to study seven forms – each shape starts with the corresponding scale note for line E.

When you start learning modes, you have to learn differently. Each playable key has seven main modes. The seven seven-way keys are 49 different guitar scales you can play with! Guitar scale modes are created depending on where you start and end playing. But the major scale has seven modes – Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aeolian, and is a brief on how to learn them.

Ionian Mode

This is a “simple” or standard mode. When you first learn the guitar scale, you will first study the ion mode (or wind mode, but we will talk about this later). Ion mode means just starting and ending the game on the scales using the main tone. The formula is as follows: Root tone -T-T-ST-T-T-T-ST, where T means full tone or 2 mills, and ST means halftone. If you play in uppercase C using ion mode, the first note you touched is C, and the last note you touched is C.

Dorian Mode

Widely used in rock music. Playing the guitar in Dorian means you start and end with the second tone of the scale. So, to play Dorian in C major, the first and last notes are D.

Phrygian Mode

To play Phrygian mode, start and end on the third tone of the stairs. To use C as a key pattern, Phrygian language mode starts and ends with note E.

Lydian Mode

It’s great to give your guitar “neo-classical” or even a renaissance (or, if you play jazz solo, this also works great). To play the guitar in Lydian Mode you need to start and end a solo or solo on the fourth scale. So, in C, you start and end solo on note F.

Mixolydian Mode

It is widely used in solo rock and jazz guitars and can be easily played with chords. To play the guitar in Mixolydian, start and end the fifth tone of the scale. So in C you start and end the solo with a hint of G.

Aeolian Mode

This is the “natural small scale” of the ionic mode. Playing solo guitar in wind mode allows you to give it a slightly smaller scale. To play a solo in Aeolian Mode start and end a solo on note A.

Locrian Mode

This is a great way to create a high level of tension in a solo as it emphasizes the basic tone, a note that offers a future root note. For example, in large capital letters, the Locrian Mode begin and end with note B.